Sheriff McCallum Honors Retiree and Member Awards
Lieutenant Perry Ott

Investigator Robert Bowers

Telecommunicator Sarah Moore

Corrections Officer Betty Watson

Administrative Employee Patty Galyean
March 18, 2016
On March 15, 2016 the Levy County Sheriff’s Office held
their semi-annual staff meeting. During this meeting Sheriff McCallum honored
recent retiree Lieutenant Perry Ott. Lt. Ott served the citizens of Levy County
and became a member of the LCSO family in 1988. Lt. Ott began his career with
LCSO in the Jail and transferred to the Patrol Division in November of 1989. He
served in our Patrol Division and advanced through the ranks being promoted to
Lieutenant in February of 2012.  His
responsibilities include Watch Commander of the Alpha shift and as a Field
Training Officer he is responsible for training and supervising the majority of
our current Patrol Deputies. Lt. Ott joins his wife Linda in retirement and is
looking forward to traveling the country and riding his motorcycle. His “can
do” attitude and positive influence will truly be missed.  
Sheriff McCallum recognized and conducted the official
swearing in of our newest members. Samantha Gilliard (Telecommunicator),
Heather Lindsey (Telecommunicator), Raquel Alfonso (Victim Advocate), Paula
Kennedy (Human Resource Director), Gloria Kilian (Professional Standards
Assistant), Gary Garboski (Patrol Division), Amanda Lugo (Detention Bureau),
Tonya Gainey (Detention Bureau) and Lee Dunn (Fleet Manager) took their Oath of
Office and were welcomed into the LCSO family.
Sheriff McCallum recognized recent promotions and transfers and
also congratulated Sergeant Joey Gore (Detention Bureau), Sergeant Anne Stacey
(Detention Bureau) and Corporal Mayra Carroll (Detention Bureau) for their
continued exceptional service. Lt. Jimmy Anderson is now assigned the
responsibility of supervision of both the Alpha and Bravo Patrol units. Lt.
Duane Dykstra is now assigned the responsibility of supervision of the Drug
Task Force and Criminal Investigations Division. Lt. Scott Tummond is now
assigned the responsibility of supervision of the Professional Standards
Five Lifesaving awards were presented by Sheriff McCallum.
He honored the fast action of Detention Bureau members Nurse Jinean English,
Sergeant Joey Gore, Corporal Mayra Carroll and Officer Hubert Capps in their
successful efforts which saved the life of a detainee. Additionally, Sheriff
McCallum honored Telecommunicator Ashley Dean after successfully instructing a citizen in proper CPR
techniques which saved the life of a citizen in distress. Sheriff McCallum honored Telecommuicator Supervisor Nicki Burbach-Knight
with the Sheriff’s Award as she was able to calmly and
clearly give a father instruction which allowed him to successfully deliver his
Sheriff McCallum concluded the meeting by honoring the LCSO
member selected as Employees of the Year. This award exemplifies the hard work
and dedication of the member who exceeds expectations going above and beyond
their regularly assigned duties. Investigator Robert Bowers was awarded the Law
Enforcement Officer of the Year award. Telecommunicator Sarah Moore was awarded
the Officer of the Year award for the Communications Division. Corrections
Officer Betty Watson was awarded the Detention Bureau Officer of the Year
award. Civilian Employee Patty Galyean was awarded the Administration Division
Employee of the Year award. 
Lt. Scott Tummond
Public Information
Levy County Sheriff’s Office
(352) 486-5111
“Know Something We Don’t” Call Crime Stoppers 1-877-349-8477 remain anonymous.